Hal Brooks


PlayMakers: No Child…

Hal Brooks directed the national tour of Nilaja Sun’s Obie Award-winning No Child… which, after a year-long critically-lauded run at both Barrow Street Theatre and Epic Theatre in New York City, toured nationally and internationally.

He also directed acclaimed Off Broadway hit and Pulitzer Prize finalist Thom Pain (based on nothing) by Will Eno at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, Soho Theatre in London, and DR2 Theatre in New York City.

Recent credits include creative consultant on Colin Quinn’s Long Story Short, directed by Jerry Seinfeld; Clybourne Park (The Juilliard School); Mona Mansour’s Urge for Going (The Public Theater); Eugene Ionesco’s The Bald Soprano (The Pearl Theatre Company); Sharr White’s Six Years (Humana Festival of New American Plays); Itamar Moses’s Back Back Back (Dallas Theater Center); Lady by Craig Wright (Asolo Repertory Theatre); the premiere of Lee Blessing’s Lonesome Hollow (Contemporary American Theater Festival); and Steve Martin’s Picasso at the Lapin Agile (Two River Theater Company).

Hal is associate artistic director of the Ojai Playwrights Conference, where he directed readings by Bill Cain and Mona Mansour. He was artistic director of The Rude Mechanicals Theater Company of New York, where he directed the Off Broadway premieres of Don DeLillo’s Valparaiso and Will Eno’s The Flu Season (OPPY Award winner).

He has directed and developed new work at Sundance Theater Lab, New York Theatre Workshop, Primary Stages, The Public Theater, The Juilliard School, Playwrights Horizons, Second Stage Theatre, New Dramatists, Naked Angels, INTAR, Magic Theatre, McCarter Theatre Center, Berkeley Repertory Theatre, American Conservatory Theater, Syracuse Stage, Cape Cod Theater Project, and PlayPenn.

Upcoming: Sam Hunter’s The Whale (Denver Center Theatre Company), Kimberly Rosenstock’s Tigers Be Still (Dallas Theater Center).

Hal is a proud member of the Lincoln Center Theater Directors Lab and SDC. He was a Drama League Fall Directing Fellow in 2003 and is a recipient of the 2007-2009 NEA/TCG Career Development Program for Directors. He was a lecturer at Yale University in Fall 2010.